#493 – Wilco, “Yankee Hotel Foxtrot”

“You should listen to Wilco. You’ll totally LOVE Wilco,” said a bunch of people sometime around 2005. Unfortunately, I never really loved Wilco.

Don’t hear what I’m not saying. I like Wilco. I like Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Had I listened to it closer to 2002 I probably would have liked it more. Or maybe if I had never worked at Starbucks and was forced to listen to Wilco for hours on end (THANKS, SBUX RADIO) I would be more likely to totally dig them.

This album is good. It has a good sound, good layering, very accessible, and so on. It is also frequently listed as the best Wilco album. And it was probably a bit ahead of its time, leading the way for a lot of the indie rock that would follow in the years to come (Rolling Stone calls it a “great leap forward”).

Does it belong on this list? Yes. Wilco is an incredibly influential band, and this album is legit good, even if I’m not going to add it to my regular rotation.

I really don’t have much else to say about this album, which makes it difficult to fill a whole post without just resorting to filler. I guess I could copy and paste the Wikipedia article about Jeff Tweedy (“Did you know he was from Belleville, IL? LOL”).

My Solid Gold Picks for this album, in the order that they appear, are as follows:

  1. “Kamera”
  2. “Jesus, etc.”
  3. “Ashes of American Flags”
  4.  “Heavy metal drummer”
  5. “Pot kettle black”

You can hear these and all of my other Solid Gold Picks on my Spotify playlist, The Greatest Songs in the Universe.

That’s it! That’s all I got. Check back next time.

 

 

…Okay. I know that this is knit picking but I really do like the portions of the album that sound like off-brand Elliot Smith wwaaayyyyyy better than the portions of the album that sound like off-brand Sonic Youth. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

